Frequently Asked Questions

What are the Listing Criteria? 

The standards of the Raleigh County Historic Landmark Commission for evaluating the significance of properties for the Raleigh County Register of Historic Places were developed in accordance with those for the national register -- to recognize the accomplishments of all who have made a significant contribution to history and heritage. These same criteria are designed to help us evaluate potential entries in the West Virginia Register of Historic Places and the National Register of Historic Places.


The quality of significance in Raleigh County history, architecture, archeology, engineering, and culture is present in districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects that possess integrity of location, design, setting, materials, workmanship, feeling, and association, and: 
A. are associated with events that have made a significant contribution to the patterns of our history; or 
B. are associated with the lives of persons significant in our past; or 
C. embody distinctive characteristics of a type, period, or method of construction, or represent the work of a master, or possess high artistic values, or represent a significant and distinguishable entity whose components may lack individual distinction; or 
D. have yielded or may be likely to yield, information important in prehistory or history.

How old does the place have to be? 

Generally, properties eligible for listing in the Raleigh County Register are at least 50 years old. Properties less than 50 years of age must be exceptionally important to be considered eligible for listing. 


Ordinarily, the following are not considered for the register -- cemeteries, birthplaces, properties owned by religious institutions, structures moved from original locations, reconstructed historic buildings, properties commemorative in nature, and properties that have achieved significance within the past 50 years. However, such properties will qualify if they are integral parts of districts that do meet the criteria, or if they fall within the following categories:
a. a religious property deriving primary significance from architectural or artistic distinction or historical importance; or 
b. a building or structure removed from its original location but which is primarily significant for architectural value, or which is the surviving structure most importantly associated with a historic person or event; or 
c. a birthplace or grave of a historical figure of outstanding importance if there is no appropriate site or building directly associated with his or her productive life; or 
d. a cemetery which derives its primary importance from graves of persons of transcendent importance, from age, from distinctive design features, or from association with historic events; or 
e. a reconstructed building when accurately executed in a suitable environment and presented in a dignified manner as part of a restoration master plan, and when no other building or structure with the same association has survived; or 
f. a property primarily commemorative in intent if design, age, tradition, or symbolic value has invested it with its own exceptional significance; or 
g. a property achieving significance within the past 50 years if it is of exceptional importance. 

Top of Page

Website Design & Hosting by:

Copyright 2002 by -- All Rights Reserved